On Saturday 17 and Sunday 18 November, the Museum of Liverpool will be hosting events dedicated to celebrating The Glory of Goodison.
In partnership with the Everton Heritage Society, the National Football Museum and Everton in the Community, the weekend will mark 120 years of Goodison Park at the new Museum, which opened on Liverpool’s waterfront last year.
Goodison Park has been home to Everton Football Club since it opened in 1892. Throughout its long history, it has suffered Second World War bomb damage, the death of Dixie Dean, and played host to more top-flight games than any other stadium in England. It was the world’s first four-sided double-decker stadium, and the first football ground in England to have dugouts, fit a scoreboard and install under soil heating.
Events at the Museum of Liverpool will include a programme of talks covering the legendary Dixie Dean and other great Everton centre-forwards, the history of the Toffee Lady, Everton’s tour of South America in 1909, the close links between Everton and Liverpool Football Clubs, the invention of goal nets, the 1933 FA Cup Final ball and the great T. G. Jones, the ‘Prince of Centre Halves’.
There will also be Museum tours, object handling sessions, footie-themed craft, children’s stories, and the Liverpool Shanty Kings singing Everton Songs. The Toffee Ladies will also be on hand to make sure there’s Everton fun for all the family and visitors of all football allegiances.
And if that’s not enough, the Museum of Liverpool has more to offer in the Wondrous Place gallery, which explores sport and creativity in the city. Visitors can learn about the history of football on Merseyside, and experience Kicking and Screaming, a 360 degree film immersive exploring Liverpool’s passion for football and the unique rivalry and success of Everton and Liverpool Football Clubs.
So c’mon c’mon, get down to The Glory of Goodison Weekend at the Museum of Liverpool!